StartClip Frame/Time?

Aug 10, 2008 at 9:31 PM
Is there a way to start a clip at a specific time within the clip?  Say I have an animation clip that I would like transition to but if i'm playing a specific animation I would like to transition into the same clip but later in the clip time.  Is this possible? 

Also, I'm a technical animator, not a real programmer, and I've been trying to get familiar with XNA and your library has been a great help to get me going with everything I need.  Thanks!
Coordinator
Aug 12, 2008 at 5:47 AM
Hi, sorry for the late reply. I'm out of office and with limited internet connection.

There's a Time property in the animation controller that you can set to any time that you want,  or you can just me a first update call passing the start time. However, you can only transition (using cross fade blending) to the begin of an animation clip. Why do you want a transition in another part of the clip?

And thanks for the kindly words I hope you enjoy the library.
Aug 12, 2008 at 7:40 AM
Transitioning to another time in the clip is something we do to save on animation memory in some cases.  Its not always a necessity but I guess its something ive become familiar with.  I'll play around with the time property and see if I can manage what I am trying to accomplish 

Thanks again!.
Coordinator
Aug 14, 2008 at 9:01 PM
Hi. It's the first time someone asks me about this feature. There are many features that I would like to add to the library and can support transitions to the same clip too, but since it is the first time I hear about this there are other features that I would like to add first.
Oct 2, 2008 at 11:56 PM
Edited Oct 3, 2008 at 12:02 AM
I may have found a solution to your problem.