This project is read-only.

Problems in playing animation in XNA

Oct 23, 2008 at 1:56 PM
hi,
i have been trying to solve this issue for a week now, but didn't find any luck.
well i have implemented my character in xna from 3dstudio max. i am using bruno's article as a reference.
my scene is building ok but when i play it it gives me following exception.

"KEYNOTFOUNDEXCEPTION was unhandelled" and it points to this line of code

animationController.StartClip(skinnedModel.AnimationClips[

"Idle"]);

well can any body tell me how can i get the name of my animation clip which is present in the model when i export it.
i am not a good programmer ,i am a more designer so getting the name of animation clip in xna is getting difficult.

appretiate if anybody reply asap.
regards.

Oct 23, 2008 at 11:36 PM
What did you name the Take?

Each animation in a FBX file is referred to as a Take and be default is exported from 3ds max as Take001, Take002, etc.

Its possible you're trying to reference a Take that doesn't exist in your FBX file but that's just a guess.

- Neal
Oct 25, 2008 at 1:35 PM
hi ,
well thanks a lot for replying, atleast i got some response after waiting a long time.
well i have tried naming my clips Take001 002, but unfortunately it didn't work.

well can u plz tell me how can i name the take by myself. and if possible how can i get the names of animation clips inside my model.

yeah you r right, the problem is i am naming the wrong clip which doesn't exist in the dictionary, i am trying to find the name of my clip which is exported when i export my model in fbx format but can't able to get the name of the clip.

hoping to hear from you soon.
regards.

--- On Thu, 10/23/08, nealalpert <notifications@codeplex.com> wrote:

> From: nealalpert <[email removed]>
> Subject: Re: Problems in playing animation in XNA [xnanimation:38337]
> To: [email removed]
> Date: Thursday, October 23, 2008, 6:36 PM
> From: nealalpert
>
> What did you name the Take?
>